Brilliant In Its Simplicity

A couple of weeks ago we WCG bloggers/gardeners got together for a little potluck. Sort of a get to know you/ get to know what we are doing gathering. We had a good time. We ate lots of food, talked a lot of gardening, and talked a little blogging.
I tend to have a hard time with potlucks mostly because I think I am not creative enough to bring anything good. I like to think of my wife as the creative part of our team.
I asked her what I should take with me. She recommended bringing my favorite salad of hers, just a simple little tomato cucumber salad.
Brilliant in its simplicity I think.
It got good reviews at the gathering and a request for the recipe.
Now I tell you in advance, this may be the only recipe I post, as I don’t fancy myself a creative cook. But I cant pass this one up.
I will give you the basic ingredients, and leave it to you to find the perfect proportions for your own taste.
So here it is in all its simplicity.

3 or 4 heirloom tomatoes, cut into 8ths or so.
a couple of cucumbers, peeled or not, and sliced.
a half a red onion or so, sliced thin.
a little olive oil.
a little red wine vinegar.
some fresh ground black pepper.
a little Lowery’s seasoned salt.
and a touch of agave nectar to balance the vinegar.

mix it all together, and voilà.

Nothing fancy, but so very tasty.
Share it at your next gathering, everyone will love it.

Leave a Reply

